The rest of the 2023 wrap up – Lizards, Brets, wood elves and Space Marines

I continue my 2023 model wrap up with a hodgepodge of different models.

Bretonnian Damsels

These two had been sitting on the paint board for over 6 months. I just couldn’t find the inspiration to finish them. Im still not happy with them and the saddle on the horse will need to change colour but for the moment I’m pleased to at least clear them from the table!

Blood Bowl – Vampires

Ok so the team is not newly painted but with the release of the new vampire rules, I did add the new big guy to the team, so felt compelled to take a new team photo, especially as the Dukes of Drakenhof made a return to the league in December

Bloodbowl – Halflings

These were the other potential team I was going to take. Willy Miniatures Imperial Halflings this time. Painted in line with my Empire army. I love how characterful the team are.

Dragon Ogre Shaggoth

Hands up this was a prepainted eBay purchase made, ready for the old world and in my Beastmen army. I thought it was a total steal considering it was metal, cheaper than buying new from GW and also considering the appalling stock level issues they are currently having!

Lizardmen – Salamander and handlers

This is the new salamander. I’m a huge fan of this sculpt as it’s a throwback to the old 5th edition model.

Lizardmen – Skink skirmishers

These are the 6th (?) edition models, armed primarily with javelins and shields. I’d like to say this is all of them done but sadly not!

And these are the bulk, if not all, of my original 5th edition skinks. This does mean that after, let’s say 30 odd years, I’ve possibly finally finished the 5th Ed starter box! (Let’s not talk about the 4th Ed box…)

Wood Elf – Wildwood Rangers

A unit that was definitely subpar in 8th but look potentially better in TOW. These I painted up for a battle report vs Simon on his YouTube channel: D6 Wounds.

Chaos – Chimera

Another model that has been lurking for years. It’s normally part of the Chaos Warriors roster but I picked it up for when my Beastmen shamans rolled the spell ‘Transformation of Khadon’, allowing them to turn into a number of monsters including a Mountain Chimera.

This one was painted up ready for my guest appearance on the Triple Crown Wargaming channel (just in case it was needed!).

Call of the Crown – 2022-23

The next couple of shots are of the armies painted up as part of the Call of the Crown challenge. I realised I hadn’t posted the finished articles here.

Bretonnians

Lizardmen

Space Marine Dreadnoughts

And lastly are a couple of dreadnoughts completed. Anyone who knows me knows I love me some dreads! I had big plans around painting a whole chunk of my marines last year but sadly they fell by the wayside, except for these two beaut’s who join the rest of the Shadow Sentinels chapter.

4 thoughts on “The rest of the 2023 wrap up – Lizards, Brets, wood elves and Space Marines

  1. You have been busy, and such a wide variety on show as well, I do like the new Salamander, as you say it goes back to the old style, I didn’t like the second version they brought out.

    Liked by 2 people

Leave a comment