Evaluation of the Herd of Khazbar the Reborn (KOW)

As normal, now the games are completed i’ll take a look at the list and try and give an evaluation of how I think each element performed and what (if anything) I would change for future games.

I’ll recap my list and then comment.

img_2780

Herd of Khazbar the Reborn

Khazbar (Shaman) – Heal + Myrddin’s Amulet – 130pts

Wazzock the Renewed (Shaman) – Heal – 120pts

Zhurrock the Mighty (Great Chieftain) – Chariot + Bows + Fire Oil – 205pts

(Brutox) – 220pts

(Brutox) – 220pts

Tribal Spirit Walkers (Horde) – Brew of Strength – 260pts

Longhorns (Regiment) – 145pts

Stampede (Horde) – Brew of Sharpness – 305pts

Guardian Brutes (Horde) – Blessing of the Gods – 255pts

Beast Pack (Troop) – 70pts

Beast Pack (Troop) – 70pts

Evaluation

Shamans. Absolutely fantastic. Heal was a 100% required as an upgrade and I found myself using it more than bane chant. If anything, I need to take an additional shaman but mounted, so they can keep up with the herd when it marches and still heal.

Chieftain on Chariot. I found myself always using him in conjunction with one of the Brutox and they worked really well together. The bows and fire oil upgrades did almost nothing and I probably wouldn’t bother with them going forward. I do feel that to get the most out of him I probably need to give him wine of the elven kind so he has nimble (though this is pricey). The question is whether he is worth the points when another spirit walker horde is only a bit more.

Brutox. I love these models though I’m not convinced on their ability to cause damage (I don’t like the random element of the attacks but the CS 2 is nice). They work well on the flanks and are pretty survivable (if I remember the regenerate!). Being large gribblies, they also have the bonus of drawing an opponents attention to them. I would definitely take one (or two) again.

Tribal Spirit Walkers. One word: amazing. I love this horde. It does suffer from being fragile as anything so it needs supporting with a second horde! The crushing strength item was a good purchase but I only included it as I had points spare.

Longhorns. I struggled to use this unit effectively. I found it too fragile and the lack of attacks compared with other units was really noticeable.

Stampede. Another fantastic unit. The brew of sharpness item really assisted its damage output, though I would be tempted with adding the additional movement item for a cheaper version. This will definitely be a mainstay in future armies.

Guardian Brutes. Again I really like this unit. Defence 5 makes a real difference and giving them elite always helped in attack. I would use them again with no hesitation.

Beast Packs. Fantastic chaff. I do need to learn to use them effectively as I was hit and miss in their application. 2 troops are prerequisites in any list.

Going forward

I need more chaff pure and simple. This realistically means Harpies (gargoyles? I forget the name) as I only own 10 beasts and also have 10 harpies. I could include a troop of hunters (and will try them) but I prefer the increased movement of the flying birdwomen.

As stated above I want a mounted Shaman in the list as it will allow it to keep up with the fast movers.

I fell afoul of large flyers in a number of my games and had nothing comparable with that depth of movement. As such I will also be swopping one of the Brutox for a chimera in order to try it out at some point. This also makes me want to support it with the avatar of the father, as a flying wing (so may mean the other is removed).

Lycans seem to be one of the go to unit selections and I could try them using my Minotaur models but I prefer not to proxy where possible.

So what will I take in my next list? If I use Herd, it will probably be:

Spirit walker horde – 230pts

Spirit walker horde – 230pts

2 * beast packs – 70 * 2 = 140pts

Stampede (blessing of the gods) – 285pts

Guardian brutes – 230pts

2 * shamans (heal) – 120 * 2 = 240pts

Avatar (heal + wings) – 345pts

Chimera (wings) – 210pts

Harpies – 90pts.

Very few items in the list and has a similar number of drops as the comp list.

There is however a good chance I’ll try a different army. I have some elves I’ve been itching to use…

Leave a Reply

