SELWG 2016 whfb tournament – Stage 2- Group A – Paul’s Daemon List

In the second of these posts looking at my opponents armies, I’ll be looking at Paul Bakers Daemons of Chaos. (The first post looked at Dan’s Empire here and the third post will look at Neil’s Daemons of Chaos here)

I’ve only had the pleasure of playing against Paul once before and that was when he was using a Grimgor Ironhide Orc list. I don’t remember the outcome of the game but what I do know is that when facing Paul you have to be careful as he always has the most beautifully painted armies and it is easy to be distracted by them (see the badly taken pictures later in the post to get an idea). I would categorically say (and have done before) that his models are by far my favourite of those i’ve seen at the club.

But enough about the painting, what has he taken in his list?

Characters

General – Great Unclean One – Lvl 4 Lore of Nurgle + 1 Lesser gift – 505pts

BSB – Herald of Nurgle + Razor Standard + Lesser Locus of Virulence + Lvl 1 Lore of Nurgle – 235pts

Herald of Nurgle + Exalted Locus of Contagion + Lvl 1 Lore of Nurgle – 175pts

Core

29 Plaguebearers + FC – 407pts

29 Plaguebearers + FC – 407pts

30 Plaguebearers + FC + Banner of Swiftness – 435pts

img_1747

Special

1 Beast of Nurgle – 60pts

1 Beast of Nurgle – 60pts

Rare

3 Plague Drones + FC – 210pts

img_1745

 

Evaluation

Now before I even attempt to put down anything meaningful, the first thing I want to do is take my hat off to Paul for using a completely themed Nurgle army including the magic lore. Before getting back into WHFB in 8th edition, I was used to not being able to mix and match chaos god followers and it still seems wrong to be able to take followers who hate others (e.g. Nurgle hate Tzeentch), so I always appreciate it when someone is true to their God (as it were).

His entire army all has at least a 5+ ward, poisoned attacks and when attacked in close combat nmes are at -1 to hit. Poison poses an issue for me as most of my army has no armour and relies on toughness to survive, something that poison will negate. Most of my army has a higher weapon skill than his so the -1 to hit puts us on an even footing.

His choice of lore actually works against me as at least 3 of the spells reduce, WS, I and T. One improves his poisoned hits from 6+ to 5+ and two of the other spells wound if the target fails a toughness test. I’ll have to be careful what I choose to dispel.

His 2 Heralds will likely each go in 2 of the 3 plaguebearer units. The BSB, apart from upping the units AP to -2 (of no use against me) also confers a rule where all of them will auto wound on hits of a 5+ (similar effect to the spell Blades of Putrefacation). The other herald gives the rule that the unit will gain an additional str 4 hit when they hit on a 6+.

I’m not quite sure what to make of the Great unclean one. It is quite literally a monster but has an exception toughness of 7 meaning that the highest strength attacks I have in the army will wound it on a 5+

On a happy note, he has no shooting so i’ll be expecting plenty of combat to take place!

This game is booked in for 16 December.

 

3 thoughts on “SELWG 2016 whfb tournament – Stage 2- Group A – Paul’s Daemon List

Leave a Reply

